“We did everything fast in 1975”

That was how Glenn Frey, during the Eagles concert in Moline, Illinois, in 2009, concluded his recollection of the songwriting process behind “Lyin’ Eyes.”

Eagles_HotelCalifornia

Sadly, I didn’t try to sneak my good camera in – and this is the best that my Flintstones-era cell phone could manage during that concert.

Yes, objectively, David Bowie was more of a true musical and artistic force than Frey or the Eagles, but I have to confess: This one hits closer to home.  I wasn’t allowed to listen to radio stations that played Bowie’s music when I was a kid; I was well into college before I developed an appreciation for him (even now I like his cover of “Friday on My Mind” better than the Easybeats’ original.)

But “Lyin’ Eyes” was – and still is – one of my favorite songs.

And, yes, regarding a different song: I also have gone to the trouble of taking a selfie whilst standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona (though I did it 24 years ago – with an AE-1, film and a tripod – and I opted for standing across from the post office instead of the ready-made photo-op that is available elsewhere in Winslow.)

R.I.P.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a reply, but don't be a troll. Have a nice day!

