I Guess He’s a Meathead After All

Queer Channel Media on Jo Becker’s Onion-worthy anti-history of gay marriage:

The notion that [Human Right Scampaign head money-inhaler Chad] Griffin, a board member of American Foundation for Equal Rights, is the hero who saved the marriage equality movement pervades the 437-page work.

One part of the book that addresses his move to D.C. in 2012 to become head of the Human Rights Campaign includes a farewell discussion in which fellow AFER board member Rob Reiner says of Griffin, “If there ever is going to be — and there will be at some point — the first gay president, you’re looking at him.”

Until recently I would have been okay if Reiner had been gay and referring to himself – but the fact that he’s referring to Griffin delegitimizes him in so many ways.

In fact, I think with that blather, he went to negative eleven.

HRC didn’t respond to multiple requests for comment on the perception that Griffin and the Prop 8 case are given undue credit in the book for their role in the marriage equality movement.

Oh, don’t worry…

They just assigned the task of responding to you to all of its trans women employees.

7 Comments

  1. Dear Katrina,

    I try to keep in tune with the times
    Watching my language and whatnot
    And my tendency to go berserker over minor issues
    But troubled deeply am I by this language of yours…

    “Meathead?”

    I don’t think it’s very nice to be casting aspersions on meat like that.

    Sincerely,
    Lurleen Blayk

    PS: They’ll tell you “there is no such thing as -11!,” but it’s there for you if your put your heart and soul into it!

    I should know!

    • I don’t think it’s very nice to be casting aspersions on meat like that.

      I hereby extend my apologies to dead animal flesh everywhere.

      • Oh, Starchie….whouda thunk all dose otha pols were outta the running? Doing stoopid things like being Senators an all.

        Having a broad constituency on all issues? Nah, just fellate the Hollyweird egos – it’s a sure vote getter everywhere in the country. Where your most voters say Chad who? And, what’s his position on social security, the NSA and school lunches?

        One trick pony. Can’t even pass a full civil rights bill for the community he supposedly serves.

        This is what they call logrolling in Hollyweird. If Chard is a god, so by extension, are his enablers. By praising him, I praise myself.

        Oh, what a good boy am I!

        • President? Who in their right mind would want to be President?

          For one, there’s all this work involved. It interferes with the diurnal cycles best devoted to napping, you know what I mean?

          If the government is sluggish and tolerant, the people will be honest and free from guile. If the government is prying and meddling, there will be constant infraction of the law. Is the government corrupt? Then uprightness becomes rare, and goodness becomes strange. Verily, mankind have been under delusion for many a day!

          — Lao Tzu

          Sincerely,
          prêtresse d’Hécate B.A.R.BLAYK — GLOBAL EMPRESS

          • “A fool will study for twenty or thirty years and learn how to do something, but a wise man will study for twenty or thirty minutes and become an expert. In this world, it isn’t ability that counts, but authority.”

            “I can see him now in his cart pulled by two deer, followed by a couple of servants. Once carried enough wine to kill Liu Ling, and the other carried a spade to bury him on the spot – so much for Confucian ceremony. When I came to call, he’d greet me stark naked and I can still hear him scream, “The universe is my dwelling place and my house is my only clothes! Why are you entering into my pants?”

            – Master Li

            “Ox, what occupation is most closely linked to insanity?’

            ‘Emperor,’ I said promptly.”

            – Master Li Questioning Number Ten Ox

        • This is what they call logrolling in Hollyweird.

          Logrolling isn’t inherently bad…

          assuming that the log involved isn’t of the type that emerges from my dog’s butt in the morning.

  2. Aw geez Edit’, that Meathead’s richer’n Jevoover over there, hunh?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a reply, but don't be a troll. Have a nice day!

